11 comments on “The Ever-Degrading Quality Of Modern Music

  1. Interesting post…

    Speaking merely from a personal perspective of course, the mainstream music industry is corporate run and controlled. That’s why the vast majority of music we hear on the airwaves is uninspired (to put it politely).

    Messages about sex, violence and consumerism ‘sells’ in more ways than one, and it indoctrinates our youth with the ‘me, me, me’ mentality corporations thrive on. The occasional genuine heartfelt song we may here, such as an Ed Sheeran song for example, is beautiful, but it doesn’t challenge us in anyway. It’s a song about ‘me’ love.

    When an artist such as Michael Jackson comes along, and ‘consistently’ challenges our present paradigm e.g. “They Don’t Really Care About Us”, “Heal the World”, “Man in the Mirror”, “Earth Song” etc, they system attacks him with all its might.

    The more centralized the corporate world becomes, the harder it is for artists to truly express their their creativity, hence the noticeable degradation we’re seeing from generation to generation.

    In other words, our music artists of today (and yesteryear) are either living in the narrow paradigm they have been indoctrinated into, or are too scared to challenge the ‘status quo’ for fear of the repercussions. The corporate dominance of the music industry (and all other forms of entertainment including news) smothers creativity for self-interest, it doesn’t celebrate it.

    Peace

  2. To be quite frank about this, it greatly depends on where you look. If you look beyond the charts and risk being declared a hipster, you can find a great deal of truly amazing artists on the internet. People who do music not for the mere purpose of getting on the charts and quickly earn enough money to fill their cocaine bucket once more, but because they genuinely like to make music, and want to express themselves by it. One of my favourite musicians is “Miracle of Sound”.

    Behind the rather pretentious name is Gavin Dunne, a gamer and a musician who made his first game-inspired song (Gordon Freeman Saved My Life) after he had a breakup. While it wasn’t all that great, it inspired him to do a rather comedic song called “Commander Shepard” about the protagonist of the Mass Effect games. He was then picked up by http://www.Escapistmagazine.com (my favourite of nerd culture-related news, game and movie reviews and such.) and started making songs for them on a bi-weekly basis. He has explored many styles and his work has undergone many changes (for the better).

    I’d suggest you check out his Escapist video gallery:
    http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/miracle-of-sound

    • I must say, that guy is pretty awesome. I’ll be sure to keep up with his work.

      If you like songs about gaming and don’t mind rap, then you should check out Dan Bull. His music is the entire reason I started to enjoy rap as an art form, and his songs are of the highest quality.

      Here’s a link to his YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/douglby

      Listen to the Dishonored rap; samples of it were used in Bethesda’s official trailer for the new DLC.

      • Oh, Dan Bull! I love this guy’s work. He is one of my favourite rap artists and a constant reminder to me that there is more to rap than just people spewing about how much money and women they have.

  3. Sorry for the repost!

    Rewrote the whole thing again from scratch thinking it didn’t work! Didn’t see the usual confirmation that it worked 🙂

    Anyways, the info is now there (x 2) for your perusal. Hope it helps.

    Namaste

    • Haha, it’s ok, I’ve deleted the second one 😛 I’ll reply here though, because for some reason I can’t nest more than three comments and I’m not sure how to change that.

      That lady seems to be very down to Earth, I like her. And I find I generally just listen to YouTube artists these days anyway; they’re generally of a much higher quality.

      I’ll be sure to read those articles in full soon; I don’t really have the time at the moment. But from what I’ve read, they make a lot of sense.

  4. I think that is important that with older music the only memories are about songs that stick to you. Meanwhile, when you listen to you music of the present the society has to to filter out the really bad music. So in 2033, everybody will talk about the great artists in the 2010s and crap on their own current popular music.

    “The only thing you know for sure, is that you know nothing..” but in my current state: that is my opinion :). (although it will probably change when I look back)..

    • That’s exactly right. People remember the good songs of old because they are timeless, and they forget the bad ones because they were never memorable. The same applies for any musical period. There will always be conflict, but that does not mean there was ever a time when music reached a point of perfection.

Leave a Reply

